Family Allowances

Family allowances are intended to support raising children in a family. The Family Allowances Act provides for twelve types of allowances with a distinctive criterion assigned for each of them, in accordance with the purpose of the particular family benefit. Most types of family benefits are granted to families, regardless of their income. For another part of the family benefits, there are specific criteria according to their purpose or legally defined income per family member for the respective year. It is necessary to emphasize that for children with permanent disabilities, children with one living parent and children placed in families of relatives or close friends, or in foster families, all types of family benefits are provided in a relieved regime, regardless of family income.

·         Legislation

·         Family Allowances Act

·         Rules for implementation of the Family Allowances Act

·         Bodies


The territorial structures of the Social Assistance Agency are the Social Assistance Regional Directorates in the administrative regional centers and the Social Assistance Directorates. The Social Assistance Regional Directorates coordinate and control the activities of the Social Assistance Directorates on their territory. The Social Assistance Directorates carry out the overall activities for the granting, payment, rejection and termination of family benefits.

·         Useful Information

Agency for Social Assistance